4 Breeds Of Wagyu

  • Japanese Black Cattle
  • Japanese Brown Cattle
  • Japanese Shorthorn Cattle
  • Japanese Polled Cattle

What Is Wagyu?

Wagyu literally means Japanese Beef. It is known for its fine and abundant marbling and for smooth muscle texture.
Three key elements that make Japanese wagyu so unique are 100% wagyu genetics, special feed ration, and extreme care. First, Japanese wagyu cattle originate from either one of the four breeds mentioned above. Second, they have special low energy diet consisting of corn, barley, and on occasion roasted soy beans. They are fed for 600 days versus US cattle of 150 days.Third, Japanese wagyu are under the most extreme care. They are brushed and massaged.

Japanese wagyu cattle are never implanted with growth hormone.

What’s So Special About Wagyu?

Wagyu fat contains oleic acid (monounsaturated fatty acid) that is unlikely to oxidize in the body. Wagyu fat has lower melting temperature. (76-86 ºF).

Like parmesan cheese, truffles, shiitake mushrooms, and kombu, wagyu contains high “umami” components when heated. Umami can be defined as a pleasant savory taste that only certain food ingredients contain.

The high marbling score of the wagyu beef is the reason why it is so tender, juicy, sweet and rich in wagyu beef aroma.

Top Quality Control

Each wagyu cattle has a given name and a 10 digit identification number placed on the ear tag at birth. Each wagyu can be traced back to its genetic lineage.

With our Certificates of Authenticity that includes a nose print you verify the birth date,  harvest date,  the owner and feedlot where the wagyu was raised.

Grading System

The grading system combines both carcass and beef with different indicators strictly applied by graders from  Japanese Government.

Yield Grade is the ratio of meat to dressed carcass weight, and is classified into three grades, from A to C (A: 72 and greater; B: 69 and greater; C: less than 69), according to numbers determined in four categories – rib eye area, rib thickness, subcutaneous fat thickness, chilled carcass weight.

Quality Grade is the classified into grades (from 5 to 1) according to marbling, meat brightness, meat firmness and texture, and fat brightness and quality.

Japan Meat Grading Association Beef Marbling Standard

Each marbling chip shows the minimum IMF% required to achieve each BMS number.